The Summit School at Nyack’s picturesque campus is located on approximately 10 acres of land in the village of Upper Nyack, New York. The property was originally the estate of Justin DuPratt White. Built in 1927, it provided a riverfront setting for an elegant home, complete with stables, greenhouse, and springfed pool.
Once completed, the estate was named Miramare. “Mira” is Spanish for “look at” and “mare” is Italian for “the sea.” This name reflected the sweeping views of the Hudson River and also the Italian background of White’s wife, Anita Lombard Bradley.
White attended Nyack High School and graduated from Cornell University in 1890. He established his career as a lawyer and he and his wife served on the Village Board in Upper Nyack for many years. They were also instrumental in founding Nyack Hospital. He was a founding member of the Rockland County Historical Society and was instrumental in the preservation of much of the Harriman State Park system, serving as one of the original commissioners of the Palisades Interstate Park. He is buried in Nyack’s Oak Hill Cemetery.
From 1934 through 1972 the Miramare Estate was the home of the Nyack Boys School. The Summit School at Nyack was created in 1974 as a residential program initially associated with Summit Queens founded by Mayer Stiskin.
To learn more about Summit Queens, please click here.